Posted by: Marco Lee | May 26, 2010

Fahrenheit 451


 

1.      Montag believes that books are alive because the old woman could die with the books. There must be something in the books that he can’t imagine, and he stole a book from the old woman’s house to have a look. I believe that books are alive. Books can give me inspiration, hope, and motivation that a human being can do too.

2.      Become a doctor of psychology, I chose Montag. His internal conflict is shown after the meeting between him and Clarisse. He had trouble and kept thinking of their conversation. For example, he thought whether he was happy. From the text: “Of course I’m happy. What does she think? I’m not? He asked the quiet room.”  His external conflict is between him and his wife, Mildred. Montag thought that his wife was trying to commit suicide by eating the whole bottle of the sleeping bottles. They had argument when Montag told Mildred that she was trying to commit suicide. From the text:

                  …..“You took all the pills in your bottle last night.” 

                  “Oh, I wouldn’t do that,” she said.

                  “I wouldn’t do a thing like that. Why would I do a thing like that?” she said….

3.      I would choose Montag, and I would choose ‘Heal the World’ by Michael Jackson to be applied to his life. Some part of the lyrics of the song:

                  “…Heal The World,
            Make It A Better Place,
            For You And For Me…”

                  Montag wanted to stop the people burning books, and he wanted to save   his country. He wanted his country become a better place for everyone without wars and burning books. He was trying to heal the world, so I chose him.

4.      “Let’s keep the book, the world history textbook because histories are very important. If there are histories, we can learn from the pasts; and we won’t repeat our mistakes. Histories can make a person to appreciate the world and everything he/she has now. For example, soldiers fought and sacrificed for their country. Therefore, we appreciate their sacrifices until today. “


Leave a comment

Categories